This is the "Home" page of the "Resources for Streaming Video " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Resources for Streaming Video  

Sites that provide access to streaming video
Last Updated: Apr 16, 2014 URL: http://umbc.v1.libguides.com/streaming Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Streaming Video Databases

UMBC provides access to the following streaming media databases.

Dance in Video  Icon

                                                               Dance in Video contains five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries by the most influential                                                                performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental,                                                                and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.

 

Routledge Performance Archive  Icon

Consists of streamed video and audio footage with relevant critical commentary. Includes interviews with key figures in theatre history and practice; masterclasses with specialist actor trainers; unique footage by legendary practitioners; excerpted and full-length contemporary productions; and documentaries. The video material spans more than fifty years.

 

 

Free Streaming Video Websites

There are a number of websites that provide free access to streaming video collections.  Some of these sites are supported by advertising while others are the official sites of the content creator (producer, director, festival, etc). This content may change or become unavailable without notice.

Please click on the links below to see additional information and to access the site.

Acknowledgements: This guide has been heavily influenced by the guides posted by the University of Minnesota and University of Arizona. Many thanks to Scott Spicer and Deg Farrelly.

 

82nd & Fifth

82nd & Fifth

This series from the Metropolitan Museum of Art features 100 episodes (each at 2 minutes), in which curators talk about works of art that changed the way they see the world. Each episode links to related clips and/or interactive pieces, and includes full identification of the curator, the work of art, and its donor(s).

 

AdViews

AdViews

The AdViews digital collection provides access to thousands of historic commercials created for clients or acquired by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency or its predecessor during the 1950s - 1980s. All of the commercials held in the DMB&B Archives will be digitized, allowing students and researchers access to a wide range of vintage brand advertising from the first four decades of mainstream commercial television.

 

American Indian Film Gallery

American Indian Film Gallery

The American Indian Film Gallery (AIFG) is an online collection of more than 450 historic films by and about Native peoples of the Americas, compiled and digitized by historian J. Fred MacDonald over many years. These films range in date from 1925 - 2010. Most date to the so-called Golden Age of educational filmmaking, from 1945 to the rise of consumer-grade video equipment in the 1970s. Many of the films from that period were sponsored by industry or governmental agencies. Others were made by independent educational filmmakers.

 

American Memory Collection

American Memory Collection

The American Memory project from the Library of Congress provides access to several hundred early motion pictures, organized into 11 discrete collections:

  • America at Work, America at Leisure: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915
  • American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920
  • Before and After the Great Earthquake and Fire: Early Films of San Francisco, 1897-1916
  • Inside an American Factory: Films of the Westinghouse Works, 1904
  • Last Days of a President: Films of McKinley and the Pan-American Exposition, 1901
  • Life of a City: Early Films of New York, 1898-1906
  • Origins of American Animation
  • Prosperity and Thrift: the Coolidge Era and the Consumer Economy, 1921-1929
  • Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures
  • Theodore Roosevelt: His Life and Times on Film

 

American Rhetoric

American Rhetoric

This collection features text, audio, and video versions of over 5,000 speeches. The site provides access to "public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, and other recorded media events." Not every speech has accompanying video.

 

Annenberg Media

Annenberg Media

Part of the Annenberg Foundation, Annenberg Media uses media and telecommunications to advance excellent teaching in American schools. The Learner.org web site provides access to many of the exceptional educational video programs developed with grant money as telecourses, including series on algebra, art, chemistry, economics, film, history, poetry, and foreign languages, among others. Not all series listed on the site are available for streaming. Videos stream in Flash. Many of the videos include closed captioning.

 

Archive of American Television

Archive of American Television

The Television Academy Foundation's Archive of American Television chronicles the birth and growth of American TV history through over 3,000 hours of oral history interviews with TV's greatest legends and pioneers. The collection covers a variety of professions, genres, and topics, and can be searched by person, show, topic or profession.

 

Arkive

ARKive

A non-profit initiative of the charity Wildscreen, this collection features thousands of videos, images, and fact-files about the world's endangered animals, plants, and fungi. Search by species, conservation status, places, and topics.

 

BBC Archive

BBC Archive

Browse the BBC's archives and explore themed collections of radio and TV programs, as well as documents and photographs from as far back as the 1930s. Collections are organized by topic, person, or location; you can also search the A-Z list of available programs.

 

Blue Gobo

Blue Gobo

BlueGobo is a video archive of musical theatre performances on television, film or video. Browse by title or decade and search by title or person.

 

C-SPAN Video Library

C-SPAN Video Library

This archive contains every C-SPAN program aired since 1987 (almost totaling over 204,000 hours). Programs are indexed by subject, speaker names, titles, affiliations, sponsors, committees, categories, formats, policy groups, keywords, and location. The congressional sessions and committee hearings are indexed by person with full text.

 

CDC-TV

CDC-TV

CDC-TV videos cover a variety of health, safety and preparedness topics as part of the Center for Disease Control and Prevention's mission. Most videos are short and easily downloadable; all include closed-captioning and are organized by series, intended audience, and topic.

 

Civil Rights Digital Library

 

 

 

Civil Rights Digital Library

The CRDL is a partnership among librarians, archivists, educators, and public broadcasters that provides access to online films, texts, images and audio recordings related to the Civil Rights movement in the United States. You can browse the collection by events, places, people, topics, or media types; both simple and advanced search options are available.

 

Connections

Connections

This 100-episode series from the Metropolitan Museum of Art offers personal perspectives from museum staff on works of art in the collection. Various tones, themes, and concepts are included.

 

Critical Commons

Critical Commons

A public media archive and fair use advocacy network that features a platform for viewing, tagging, sharing, annotating, curating, and spreading media.

 

Ethnographic Video for Instruction & Analysis

 


Ethnographic Video for Instruction & Anaylsis (EVIA)

The EVIA Digital Archive Project is a preservation and access system for annotated ethnographic field video. Collections represent a diverse range of performance traditions from the around the world. Viewing videos requires registering for an account and agreeing to the end user license agreement.

 

Folkstreams

Folkstreams

Folkstreams offers streaming access to documentaries about American folk or roots cultures with essays about the traditions and filmmaking. The site includes transcriptions, study/teaching guides, suggested readings, and links to related websites. It also provides simple keyword and advanced searching, as well as the ability to browse by subject, region, title, filmmaker, and other categories. Video displays include links to related films.

 

International Monetary Fund Videos

International Monetary Fund Videos

Provides more than 1,000 short-form videos, generally under 5 minutes, produced by the International Monetary Fund (IMF). Search options permit searching by a combination of elements: Category, Country, Year, Language, and Keyword. Categories include: Countries and Regions, Economic Outlook, Speeches, Seminars, and more.

 

Internet Archive: Movie Archive

Internet Archive: Movie Archive

The Moving Image Archive contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users that range from classic full-length films to daily alternative news broadcasts to cartoons and concerts. Browse sub-collections or use the simple/advanced search. The videos are either in the public domain or Creative Commons-licensed, and many are available for free download.

 

Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive

Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive

View online videos featuring performance excerpts from Jacob's Pillow from the 1930s to present. You can search by artist, genre, or era, as well as take part in a guessing game to identify dancers.

 

Lannan Foundation

Lannan Foundation

The Lannan Foundation is dedicated to cultural freedom, diversity and creativity through projects which support exceptional contemporary artists and writers, as well as inspired Native activists in rural indigenous communities. The site provides access to 15 years of audio and video recordings from live events and interviews with notable authors, scholars, and activists. More recordings are included on the foundations podcast site, which is available for subscription via iTunes.

 

Media Burn Independent Video Archive

Media Burn Independent Video Archive

The Media Burn Independent Video Archive collects more than 6,000 documentary videotapes produced by independent videographers outside of corporate contexts. The tapes chronicle four decades of 20th and 21st century life (1969 to present), including politics, arts and culture, community life, urban issues, ethnic identities and more.

 

Media That Matters

Media That Matters

Media That Matters showcases 12-minute or less films in an annual collection, organized alphabetically by year and title. A simple search interface facilitates finding films by keyword. Films may also be browsed by one of 15 issues: Criminal Justice, Economic Justice, Environment, Family & Society, Lesbian/Gay/Bisexual/Transgender, Gender/Women, Health/Health Advocacy, Human Rights, Immigration, International, Media, Politics/Government, Racial Justice, Religous Freedom, and Youth.

 

Mediterranean Memory

Mediterranean Memory

A free video archive that preserves the historic, cultural and tourism heritage of the Mediterranean area. The TV and radio archives are presented in historic and cultural context with accompanying notes in French, English, and Arabic. Co-funded by the European Union.

 

The Mike Wallace Interview

The Mike Wallace Interview

Video of 65 interviews from the television series hosted by the late Mike Wallace from 1957 and 1958. Provided by the Harry Ransom Center at the University of Texas at Austin. Each program includes a text transcript. Copyright of all of the interviews belongs to Mike Wallace and the Ransom Center.

 

Millennium Stage: Kennedy Center

Millennium Stage

Provides free access to live streaming video feeds of free music, dance and theater performances at The Kennedy Center daily at 6 pm Eastern time (3 pm Pacific time). Also provides a freely accessible and searchable video archive of past performances.

 

Movieclips

Movieclips

Provides more than 12,000 short clips from feature films licensed from Fox, MGM, Paramount, Sony, Universal and Warner Bros that can be shared over social media or used in webpages and presentations. Reuse of the clips requires registering with the site.

In addition to searching by title or actor, the site allows one to search by dialogue, genre, action, occassion, theme, and mood. Browse categories such as best kiss, tearjerkers, birthdays, holidays, awkward moments, action moments, bad guys and fight scenes.

 

National Committee for Fluid Mechanics Films

National Committee for Fluid Mechanics Films

A series of films created by Ascher Shapiro in the 1960s, used to teach fluid mechanics. A majority of the videos are available on YouTube and have accompanying film notes.

 

National Geographic Video

National Geographic Video    **Warning: AUTOPLAY**

This collection features videos from Nat Geo TV, Nat Geo Wild, and subject-specific categories. Videos can be shared through social media or embedded in websites.

Warning: video will autoplay.

 

National Park Service B-Roll Video

National Park Service B-Roll Video

This webpage provides links to public domain video of national parks, monuments, battlefields, historic sites and related areas. Video previews are presented in Flash player format and searchable only by drop-down menu.

 

National Theatre: Video Collection

National Theatre: Video Collection

Short videos that introduce various aspects of the British National Theatre. Some subjects included: Wigs, Scenic Art, Puppetry, Casting and more.

 

NYPL Dance Division Moving Image Archive

New York Public Library Dance Division Moving Image Archive

A virtual space for dance enthusiasts and researchers alike to browse, search, compare, and comment on dance videos and images - then share their discoveries with others!  While not all of the NYPL Dance Division Moving Image Archive collection is available offsite, large portions of the collection are available.  To browse only freely available material, click the the "Exclude Location-Restricted Videos" button under the search box.

 

PBS Content

art21

Created by PBS, Art21 chronicles contemporary art and artists both online and through its series Art in the Twenty-First Century. This site hosts episodes from the television show, as well as the following online series:

Artist to Artist: Contemporary visual artists in conversation with their peers
• 100 Artists: Celebrates the artists who appeared in the series Art in the Twenty-First Century
• New York Close-Up: Profiles artists in the first decade of their professional career in NYC


PBS Video

Provides access to select programs from PBS series. Users can browse by Programs, Topics, or Collections. Individual programs are subdivided into smaller segments. PBS Video coverage includes episodes from from Masterpiece, American Experience, Austin City Limits, Antiques Roadshow, Frontline, Nova, Nature & Great Performances.

 

POV: Documentaries with a Point of View

Provides a selection of full-length and short films from the acclaimed PBS documentary film series POV. Videos are organized by length and topic.

 

 

PopTech

PopTech

Provides videos of global innovators talking about a variety of subjects: Business, Design, Education, Energy, Entertainment, Environment, Health, Music, Science, Society, and Technology.

 

ScienceCinema

 

 

 

ScienceCinema

Contains multimedia videos highlighting the U.S. Department of Energy's scientific research. State-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology allows the user to search for specific words and phrases spoken by the presenter. Simply enter a term and the results list will point to the precise snippets of the video where the term was spoken.

 

Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive

Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive

The Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive serves as a research facility for scholars of U.S. public policy. The Library's multimedia archive includes more than 2,500 hours of secret White House recordings, hundreds of presidential oral history interviews, audio and video recordings of Miller Center Forums, and documents related to the executive branch of American government. The Library's digital archive on the American presidency is over 3TB and growing.

 

Smithsonian Collections Search Center

Smithsonian Collections Search Center

Search over 6.4 million records with 536,000 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.

 

Snag Films

Snag Films

Provides access to over 850 full-length documentary films from established distributors and first-time filmmakers. The site organizes titles by broad Topics (such as Arts, Environment, Health, History, Women's Issues, etc.) and by Channels (including well-established film companies such as Alive Mind, Icarus, Fanlight, PBS, and National Geographic).

Videos stream in Flash. Brief commercials precede and are interspersed through the video playback.

 

Southern Foodways Alliance

Southern Foodways Alliance

The Southern Foodways Alliance documents, studies, and celebrates the diverse food cultures of the changing American South. Oral histories are organized by trails/regions, state, and city and feature extensive accompanying documentation.

 

Stanford Health Video Library

Stanford Health Video Library

This free collection provides access to audiovisual materials covering a wide range of medicinal and dental topics, sorted by topic. Videos are available to stream through YouTube or iTunes.

 

TED

TED

TED hosts numerous recorded talks that are organized under broad subject categories:  Technology, Entertainment, Design, Business, Science, and Global Issues. Films can also be sorted by tone (persuasive, inspiring, informative, etc), date, view count, and popularity.

 

Thanhouser Video Collection

Thanhouser Video Collection

Provides access to more than 50 films that represent a cross-section of the output produced between 1910 and 1917 by the Thanhouser film enterprise based in New Rochelle, New York. Each film includes a summary and analysis written by film historian Victor Graf.

 

UbuWeb

UbuWeb

UbuWeb is a completely independent resource dedicated to all strains of the avant-garde, ethnopoetics, and outsider arts. The site provides access to over 2,500 full-length avant-garde films and videos, as well as audio works and more.

 

USDA Food Safety Videos

USDA Food Safety Videos

View the various food safety and inspection streaming videos and audio files available from the Food Safety and Inspection Service. The videos are organized by category: Public Service Announcements; Meat, Poultry and Processed Egg Product Inspection; Regulatory Education Seminars; and SignFSIS.

 

WGBH Open Vault

WGBH Open Vault

Provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. The ever-expanding site contains video, audio, images, searchable transcripts, and resource management tools, all of which are available for individual and classroom learning.

Videos are organized by broad topics, collection, and series. The site features simple keyword searching with filterable results.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip